Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
John tutors in Philadelphia, PA

John C.

Private tutor in Philadelphia, PA

5John C.

3 reviews

Education

PhD from Rutgers University for Entomology (4.0). Masters of Public Health from the University of Medicine and Dentistry: New Jersey (3.9). BS from Rutgers University in Ecology and Natural Resources (3.4). I know how to change bad study habits because I started undergrad with them myself. As for real word education, I've worked dozens of different job over the years and they all have given me insight into one thing or another. Interestingly, some of the most useful experience I got was when I was the president of the Student Government Associations in both my graduate degree programs.

Experience

I am currently the CEO of two different companies (one of which is a science museum) but I tutor in my spare time. I have been tutoring students since 2005 in math, science, English, and all sorts of different standardized tests. I was a straight A student throughout my graduate degrees. I have experience with children from 5 to 50. Before I started my companies, I worked in all manor of jobs: lab technician, QPCR and GIS mapping, managing survey projects, a mosquito detection rearing program, and doing fieldwork with the different crop pests. I taught several undergrad and graduate classes at Rutgers from 2013 to 2016 included biology, insect science, invertebrate zoology, and an ESL literature review writing course. I tutor off the principal that each student learns in a different way...and that everyone loves demos!

Subject Expertise

Availability

Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 1 hour away for a flat fee

Hobbies

In my spare time, I organize events for a non-profit called Operation Monarch that I started this past summer. We teach about environmental changes and stewardship by learning about the Monarch butterfly system. I enjoy hiking and cooking large meals for friends on weekends. I am a triathlete and an avid rock climber (indoor/outdoor...it's all great to me!). I also love to read and make art. http://i.imgur.com/YKYz2a7.gif

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!