Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Joanna tutors in Philadelphia, PA

Joanna M.

Private tutor in Philadelphia, PA

Joanna M.55

5 reviews

Education

University of San Francisco - BS, Biology , Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine - MS, Biomedical Science

Experience

I earned my undergraduate degree in biology from the University of San Francisco with a focus on medicine. During my studies, I worked a great deal with electron microscopy, histology, and the California wildlife. I am bilingual and fluent in both Spanish and English and I enjoy working with others to improve their linguistic skills in either language. As a first generation Mexican American, I find it extremely rewarding to share my language, culture, and heritage with students of any age who are eager to learn. To that end, I have worked for several years as a Spanish Immersion teacher and I've had substantial success in helping my students master the language. In addition to tutoring students in Spanish 1-3 and conversational Spanish, I tutor numerous other courses, including biology, microbiology, reading, writing, literature, anatomy, organic chemistry, physiology, science, English, languages, anatomy & physiology, high school biology, college biology, high school chemistry, and college chemistry. I believe it is important to get to know my students and learn about their learning style, strengths, and weaknesses in order to better create a program of study that will help them achieve their own academic goals. No two students are the same, and no two tutoring sessions should be the same either.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Biology, microscopy, reading, Spanish literature, ballet, snowboarding, surfing, swimming, hiking, photography, painting and spending time with my family and my dogs.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!