Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Jessica tutors in Philadelphia, PA

Jessica N.

Private tutor in Philadelphia, PA

Education

UC-Berkeley - BA, Political Science , San Francisco State University - M.A., Political Science

Experience

I'm currently working on my Ph.D. in Political Science. My teaching and tutoring background includes children to adults. I truly enjoy working with each age group in helping each student go beyond their goals. I've also taught ESL abroad to adults. In teaching ESL, I had all 44 of my students leave the class feeling more confident in their English abilities. I also was a tutor at Community College Foundation where the entrance/exit evaluations showed that my students met and exceeded their own goals. When I meet a new student, I work to understand his or her challenges, strengths, and goals. I work directly with the student to determine his or her specific academic needs and help them along the way to success. I then deliver the subject material in ways that work with the student's strengths. I also will ask questions during our sessions as well as praise achievements and highlight progress. I have been described as a professional instructor and have received accolades regarding this. My tutoring and teaching has included ESL, reading comprehension, reading analysis, creative writing, persuasive writing, and expository writing. I can also work with students on test preparation for the GRE verbal or writing and SAT verbal or writing. I'm also available to tutor English subjects of vocabulary and grammar. I can also tutor social studies subjects, including AP government. Outside of teaching, I spend my time reading, swimming, biking, walking, traveling, and enjoying movies, cuisine, and current events. I also enjoy spending time with my boyfriend, friends, family, and rescue kitty.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Literature, movies, current events, friends/family, biking, swimming, cooking, scrapbooking.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!