Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Angela tutors in Philadelphia, PA

Angela G.

Private tutor in Philadelphia, PA

5Angela G.

1 review

Education

University of Pennsylvania - BS, Psychology/International Relations

Experience

I am currently attending the University of Pennsylvania, where I am studying International Relations, French, and English. I have been working as a tutor in one manner or another since I was in middle school. I worked through a program called Peer to Peer, wherein I mentored younger students in subjects they were struggling with. I also worked informally as a tutor in high school, assisting fellow students with essays, theses, and a variety of other subjects. I continued my work as a tutor throughout my collegiate career, helping struggling students in West Philadelphia. I found this work very satisfying, as it was both personally challenging and rewarding to see my students progress.My specialty is English. I have taken many courses on English during my time at college, as well as an intensive Writing seminar that helped me hone my skills in analyzing, interpreting, and explaining complicated English texts. I am able to assist students with a variety of subtopics within the subject, including Reading, Writing, Essay Editing, Literature, and Poetry. I am also familiar with standardized tests, such as the SAT, and can help students prepare for them. I have a creative approach to teaching. I believe in making lessons interesting, and I use many methods to keep my students motivated. I also tailor my tutoring sessions to match every student's specific needs, and I encourage them to be patient but persistent with their learning process. In my free time, I enjoy reading, drawing, listening to music, and going to the beach for a swim.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

25 miles at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Reading, Listening to music, going to the beach, swimming, drawing, tutoring

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!