Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Andrew tutors in Philadelphia, PA

Andrew I.

Private tutor in Philadelphia, PA

Education

Bachelor's in Psychology from University of Michigan, Ann Arbor Master's in Human Development and Family Studies from University of Wisconsin, Madison Secondary Mathematics Teaching Certificate from University of Pennsylvania, Teach For America

Experience

I've been teaching GRE, SAT, ACT, and GMAT test prep for over 15 years. I score in the 98th-99th percentile on the math sections of all standardized tests. I specialize in diminishing test anxiety in my students. With a degree in psychology and a deep desire to help all students overcome the obstacles in their path, I have researched test anxiety and employed strategies to great success. I've had students with congenital brain disorders and learning disabilities, as well as students who are already scoring decently well, increase their scores dramatically. My most recent success was a student who went from 89th percentile to 98th percentile on the GMAT. I have also taught math from 7th to 12th grade, mostly with low income students, from diverse backgrounds, including many students with learning disabilities and English language learners. My rate may seem high compared to others, but bear in mind that many tutors are in the business simply because they scored well themselves on tests. This, by no means, implies that they can teach the content. Often people that are really good at tests have a hard time working with those that struggle with the concept or content. It has been my mission in teaching to ensure that all students learn by finding a way to make the material make sense. I can guarantee results because I have seen them from 7th graders up to 12th graders, students that have learning disabilities to students who are already competent but want to excel, students that are just learning English. Furthermore, I have experience with greatly improving the scores on each of the tests that I advertise.

Subject Expertise

Availability

Weekdays in the evening, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 5 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I like all kinds of music, from hip hop to indie rock, as well as sports, especially college basketball and football. I used to skateboard a lot. Now, as an older guy and a father of two, my interest has turned to chess, in my little spare time.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!