Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Melissa tutors in Philadelphia, PA

Melissa M.

Private tutor in Philadelphia, PA

Education

Doctor of Philosophy Student in Psychology at Temple University, Masters in Education Student at Temple University, Bachelor of Arts Degree at Franklin University Switzerland with Major in Literature and Cultural Studies and Double Minor in Psychology and Italian awarded 2012. Fluency in Italian. Knowledge of French and German. Beginner Level Serbian/Croatian. Research Assistantship from 2012-2014 in Child Studies at the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia. Research Coordinator from 2013-2015 at Pediatric Shriners Hospital for Children in Philadelphia.

Experience

As a tutor, I possess the skills, dedication, quality, experience, and knowledge to teach a wide range of subject areas. I worked as a professional tutor from 2008-2012 in English, Writing, Literature, Foreign Languages, and Psychology. I became a professional editor from 2010-2012 for the local Swiss newspaper. I worked as an Academic Mentor for first-year undergraduate students. I became a Cross-Cultural Mentor for undergraduates from the Middle East and Europe who needed academic guidance in studies and extra aid with time management. More than three years experience teaching English to children and adolescents from different cultural backgrounds. I possess diverse experiences in working with students with ADD, ADHD, learning disabilities, and other learning difficulties.

Subject Expertise

Availability

Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 25 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 30 minutes away for a flat fee

Hobbies

I love to travel and learn different languages. In 2008, I moved to Switzerland to earn my undergraduate degree, which was the best decision I ever made! Cross-cultural living gave me unique skills and an amazing opportunity to meet and speak to people all over the world. After earning my degree, I moved to Philadelphia and worked at the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia helping to research ways we can help sick children feel better. Now, I am working towards a PhD in Psychology to help children in the schools. In my free time, I LOVE to travel, read, write, practice different languages, and spend time with family. I have a niece who just turned one and my brother loves when I babysit, so he and my sister-in-law can get a few hours of snooze time!

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!