Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Nicole tutors in Philadelphia, PA

Nicole T.

Private tutor in Philadelphia, PA

Education

I attended the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth for my Bachelors and Masters degree. I earned a 3.7 GPA in my undergraduate Mathematics degree and a 3.9 for MAT in Secondary Math Ed. I worked in the Math and Business tutoring center while I went there. I loved continuing my work as a tutoring as I went into college and then beyond. I have attended many math ed conferences over the last 12 years and I enjoy continuing to learn about math and specifically learning about how to teach math.

Experience

During my time as a teacher over the last ten years I have taught Algebra at all levels, Introduction to Geometry, Trigonometry, Geometry, PreAlgebra, Precalculus and Project Based Math. I love to incorporate technology into learning. We have some amazing tools and it makes subjects more relevant to students. I have been tutoring since I was in high school. I participated in guidance office run student-to-student tutoring. In college I tutored at a local vocational school and at an education center in a housing development. Then I tutored for the business and math center at my college. When I first graduated I tutored privately during the summer. I have tutored almost every level in mathematics from k-16. I am a certified teacher in three states so I have a variety of experiences that shape my teaching and tutoring approach. I have seen the transition to state exams in all three states so I am very aware of the new standards that are required as the curriculum for math courses is being updated across the US. I have currently background checks for all three required for a PA teacher. This includes FBI fingerprints, Child Abuse Background Check and Criminal History checks. I have the paperwork to support that I have no records with all three agencies.

Availability

Weekdays in the morning, Weekdays in the afternoon, Weekends in the afternoon, Weekends in the evening

Can Meet

Up to 25 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 1 hour away for a flat fee

Hobbies

I love to read, be creative, go out to movies, ballets, operas and jazz. I take dance class to stay active and I have an adorable puppy that I love to hang out with and relax at home. I a married to a very funny guy and we like to watch comedy together. I am from Massachusetts, I lived in Dallas for a while and now I'm here in Philly and I absolutely love it.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!